Decoupage Panda

I was going to do this blog post on makeup I got for Christmas, however I was watching the create and craft channel on freeview the other weekend, and it really got me in the mood for doing something crafty. They were mainly doing card making type things so I decided to have a go at some decoupage, the result of which you can see in the image below.

The panda design is one I created myself a few years ago in Photoshop. I keep all my .psd files, which made it easy to use the different layers to split the image up into the different levels to make the 3D effect. I printed it out on white card, cut it out and fixed together with foam pads onto blue card. I then cut it out on a circle and attached it to some purple card.

I’m pleased with how it came out, and very pleased that the printer had some ink left in it for once lol! Despite the simpleness of the image, I think it’s more special to me than if I had done decoupage with something I had bought. This is because the image used itself is my own design and it therefore makes it more personal in my opinion. It also makes it completely my own work I guess. However I think that maybe I should have made the main branch that the panda is sitting on 3D by one level as I think it looks too flat compared to the 3D leaves layered on top.

What do you think? Has anyone else used an image they have created themselves and then turned it into a piece of decoupage, and if so did you find it a lot more rewarding?

Leave a Reply

