Barry M Magnetic Blue Nails

I was hoping to do this post several days ago, but by the time work is over for the day there’s never any time left for anything else sigh..

Anyways, last weekend I picked up three of the newish magnetic nail paints by Barry M. They currently do four different colours, but I already have a purple magnetic nail varnish from Nails Inc. So the ones I got were the blue, burgundy and dark silver. They are a lot cheaper than the Nails Inc ones. £4.99 instead of £13, and in my opinion offer the same quality. Boots also had a buy 2 nail paints and get £1 off offer at the same time which was a bonus. Whilst there I also picked up their new waterproof gold coloured eyeliner, which I am impressed with, but I will save that for another day. When I first started this blog I had an eyeliner comparison post planned but never got around to it, so maybe this will help me try harder to find the time for such a post.

Barry M have recently been releasing a lot of new products/shades of existing products, so if you love Barry M as much as me I suggest you check there  website out for an update.

Anyways, this week I tried out the blue magnetic. The magnet with this one gives a kind of star shaped effect. One thing I love is that each colour has a different magnet instead of the same on all of them like the Nails Inc ones do. You can also mix and match the magnets between all the colours making them very versatile.

They apply in the same way as other magnetic polishes and apply easily. The consistency is a bit thicker than the standard nail paints, and they were touch dry fairly quick. The magnet was easy to use and was strong enough to reach the sides of my nails as well. However you have to work fast to ensure you get the magnet over the nail before the polish starts to dry. Which is quite a short length of time in my opinion. Sometimes I found the effect had only worked on one half of the nail due to the fact that the other side of the nail was the side I started painting from. Although it was not yet touch dry, it had dried too much for the magnet to work. However I have had the same problem with other magnetic polishes that I have tried. I guess it all comes down to my perfectionist nature which results in me taking a longer amount of time to do things.

The above thumbnail was the nail that came out the best out of all of them this time around. The difference between the two shades is enough to make the effect nice and noticeable. I also love the way the effect seems to move about a bit as you move your nail around, which reminds me of a hologram.

There was one thing I was disappointed in whilst using this polish however. Even though I had left my nails to dry for a good 30 minutes, when I went to apply the topcoat afterwards it started to drag the polish a bit and mess up the effect. I had to redo a couple of nails because of this. The only way I could minimise this was to make sure my brush was very full of product and then brush it on very quick and in as few strokes as possible. Even then though, I couldn’t help but feel that they looked better before the top coat, and my top coat was much thicker than I wanted it to be.

This is a problem I’ve had before with other nail polish. You spend ages perfecting your design just to have the topcoat mess it all up. Maybe its because I try to be too perfect with the topcoat and like to make sure it has covered every single part of the polish underneath. Whatever the reason I would love to know if other people have encountered this problem, and what tips or tricks they have to overcome/avoid/minimise this?

Despite this I can’t wait to try out the other colours. I think I’ll try the burgundy next week. Has anyone else tried out this polish yet, and if so what do you think?

Leave a Reply

