Barry M Silvery Lilac and Cappucino Nails

I know it seems most of my posts are about Barry M nail paints, but that’s because they are lol. Unless I’m looking for a particular shade or finish I usually buy Barry M because they are relatively cheap, yet the quality and length of wear is just as good if not better than some of the more expensive brands.

Anyways this week I wore two of their quite new paints. The first which I wore on my fingers is called Silvery Lilac.

I was quite excited about this one, so I feel I ended up disappointing myself. In the bottle it looks like it changes between a nice lilac, blue/green and silver. This is how it does look in the bottle, but the effect is a lot less son the nail I felt.

On the nail I felt it was mostly silver, with a light lilac coming through if you caught it right under the light. Sometimes you can also see a slight green tinge coming through on the silver. It does have a nice shimmer to it though. In the image below I applied 3 coats.

Before trying it out I had decided to apply a silver glitter nail varnish to the tips to add a subtle bit of sparkle to the whole look. I was hoping that the lilac would be more noticeable than it actually is, but it is actually quite a light shade and so is not far from the silver colour itself. I feel that because of this you would only really notice that it has lilac in it if you knew to look for it and were looking close. I prefer when the effect is is easily noticeable to other people when they glance at your nails.

However, as the consistency is quite sheer, I feel that it might actually be good to apply over other colours to transform them into something completely different. I have been wondering what they would look like over the pastel colours such as the peach melba, but I am not sure if that would be a disaster. Perhaps a purple pastel colour or even a mint green would be safer. It is definatley a polish to experiment with.

Overall, even though it is not quite what I had hyped myself up for, it is still a lovely shimmery nail paint and the colours do go well together.

The other new nail paint I tried out this week is their Cappucino shade. I don’t normally go for such nude/greige shades as I prefer colour and think they are a bit boring The only reason I went for their dusky mauve colour in the past is because of the purple shimmer in it. However I felt that because those types of colours are lacking in my collection that it would be nice to give it a try.

I would describe this as a greyish purple brown colour. As I have already painted my finger nails this week I decided to put this on my toes. Sorry in advance for the pictures of my manky toes lol.

In the above picture I took it against my purple bedroom carpet and this makes the grey stand out more. I don’t paint my toenails often as I find it difficult to do them anywhere near neat. (I actually persuaded my mom to paint them for me this time lol). Although I didn’t expect to like this shade, I found it actually looks really nice. The finish is also quite glossy even though I didn’t bother with a topcoat and I think it looks quite sophisticated.

In the above picture I have taken it against my grey table top so that you can see the purplish brown colour in the shade more easily. I also feel that because I always like to make my fingernails noticeable in a different way each week, that it’s a bit strange to leave my toenails completely plain, which normally is actually how they are. I feel that by painting your toes in such a colour that you can quickly and easily make it look like you have not forgotten about you toes, and make them look good without having to put much effort in.

Leave a Reply

