New Barry M Magnetic Nail Paints

Just a quick post to share what I received in the post this morning. Barry M announced some new magnetic colours recently and I just couldn’t wait to try them out. My nails are still completely unchipped from when I painted them last Sunday, so I managed to persuade my mom to let me try them out on her toenails instead, as you can see in the pictures below.

These were painted very quickly as I just wanted to experiment to see how they looked. I plan on trying out each colour separately over the coming weeks to give you a more in depth look at them individually.

So far from my first impressions, I like the blue one the most. It feels very summery and reminds me of the sea, and so I think I will start with trying out that one first. Unlike the previous magnetic paints, these are lighter in colour, although you wouldn’t realise this from looking at them in the bottle.

One other main difference with these is that you can see very visible flecks of glitter and/or shimmer in each one. With the previous magnetics it was more of a subtle shimmer to give you a metallic effect type finish. With the new shades I also found that the consistency was a bit thinner and they are slightly a bit more sheer. However, 2 coats is still all you need to get the desired effect. I think this may be due to the fact that the colours are lighter. I also found these ones easier to apply and to get the effect to come out on successfully. This may just be because I have more experience with magnetic nail paints now though.

On the Barry M facebook page the colours are called as follows (going form left to right): Neptune Sea (Blue), Cosmic Glow (Green), Moon Dust (Gold), Super Nova (Multi) and Venus Sunset (Red). However on the bottles they are labelled as: Magnetic Sparkle Blue #345, Magnetic Green Sparkle #348, Magnetic Sparkle Gold #344, Magnetic Multi Sparkle #347 and Magnetic Sparkle Red #346, which reflects the colours of the glitter in each.

Who else will be purchasing these new shades? I can’t wait to try them out properly.

Leave a Reply

