Long Distance Relationships

I wanted to do a different kind of blog post today because I am curious on what people’s opinions are of long distance relationships.

Do people believe they can work?

Do people believe they are as valid as a ‘normal’ relationship?

Is there anyone who visits my blog who is also in a long distance relationship themselves, and do you have any thoughts to share?

Some of you may have seen my recent blog post for the ‘message peg’ that I made for my boyfriend. Well  I am actually in a long distance relationship myself. I know when our relationship first started it was  quite an unusual thing and not many people believe they can work. I wonder about whether the general opinions are still the same as this today.

Well, we got engaged on the 19th of October and I have recently been thinking about sharing my story. My reasons for this are mainly to be a support for other people who are going through a similar situation and to also share my experiences and thoughts about my long distance relationship. However I would like to save all the details until I post my story.

I also have a craft gift project for him that I have planned and feel that if I were to do a blog post on it, then it would make more sense to visitors of my blog if I were to share my story first. This way you will see the reasons behind the gift.

Please reply, even if you would normally not post a comment on a blog post. However please be considerate. I have no problems with negative opinions, as I hope to get opinions from both sides. As long as they are kept civil and non-aggressive I do not mind. Basically I don’t want this post to end up in a flame war lol. Thanks!

 

4 responses

  1. I think it depends on the people involved. At the end of the day If you love someone you’ll do anything to make it work. In today’s environment with FB, skype etc I think it’s a lot easier to maintain a long distance relationship but if it’s meant to be then it’s meant to be. I’ve seen a lot of people break up (because one of them is moving away either to another city or country) without even trying to make long distance work which is sad. “normal” relationships take ALOT of time and effort as well. It’s all around hard work to maintain a relationship with another human being whether long distance or not. congrats on your engagement!

    Like

    • I totally agree, it really depends on the the people involved. And yes, it may be long distance or together, relationship takes time and effort. And is never going to be as easy as 1-2-3 everyday. I am in a long distance relationship, too. My boyfriend can tell our story better than I do. So he did so I can post it in our blog (http://guenbt.com/2012/02/20/words-with-meaning/). He sent it through email then, I just recently added him as a contributor, so it is ours now. Sharing life as we work to be together in our everyday. Congratulations to your engagement. Looking forward of reading your story. 🙂

      Like

  2. First off, congratulations on your engagement!! I’m happy for you and your fiance.

    Giving my opinion I have to say that a long distance relationship can work, but only for a certain amount of time. I don’t think that there is a set amount of time that a relationship has to be long-distance before it won’t work, it just depends on the two involved. I do believe that eventually you have to be together for it to really work.

    There is nothing that can replace the physical connection that is present in the relationship. Feeling someone’s hugs when you’re being consoled, having them physically wipe away your tears, feeling how proud they are of you in the way they hug you and simply feeling the love they have for you when they hold you.

    I know that there are so many things that can make a long-distance relationship work but all of the technology in the world can’t replace those physical things that are important. A long-distance relationship can work, but it can’t be long distance forever.

    Like

Leave a Reply

