Matte Stripe Nails

This design looked better when I pictured it in my mind, but I still think it turned out OK, even if it is a bit messy.

_IMG_5341 copy

I first painted all nails in 2 coats of my chosen base colour.

_IMG_5343 copy

I then added a normal top coat and allowed them to dry for about 30 minutes.

_IMG_5345 copy

Afterwards I used striping tape to add 3 stripes of tape to each nail. This was a bit fiddly, especially as the strips needed to be longer than the nail width so that I could grip them later.

_IMG_5347 copy

Then, 1 nail at a time I added a matte top coat and immediately removed the striping tape before it could dry in order to leave glossy stripes in between larger matte stripes.

_IMG_5351 copy

However on some nails the matte hadn’t coated the nail as well as I thought it had as I was rushing a bit and so the lines didn’t come out as perfect as I had hoped.

_IMG_5353 copy

Also it needed to be left to dry a bit longer before adding the striping tape I think. This is because on a couple of nails the tape pulled at the sides of the nail varnish as I tried to remove it, and so I had to attempt to touch up those nails.

Leave a Reply

