Empty but not really!

So you know how when you get to the end of a tube of hand cream for example, and you bash it down hard and shake it about to try and get as much out as you can before throwing it out?

Well I finished a tube of hand cream off a while back, or so I thought, and I wondered to myself just exactly how much is in the tube. So I cut it in half and I have to say there was loads more than I expected left in there.

IMG_5639

You can’t really see very well in the above picture, but there is a lot of cream in the bottom ‘shoulder’ parts of the bottom of the tube. However this picture had been taken after I had used the cream 5 times since cutting it. I’m sure I could get at least another 2 uses from what is left.

There was a lot of cream in the top corners of the tube as well. This means that by cutting it in half I’ve managed to get at least another week of cream out of this tube.

IMG_5640

The above picture shows you do not have to worry about your cream drying out either as if you fold the bottom half a little at the top, you can slip the top half over it to close it a bit. I would recommend using us the extra cream in the top half first though.

I will definatley be doing this from now on with all my products. If you’ve paid for the whole tube you might as well save money by using the whole thing up lol!

I think this problem would be worse with thicker creams. One thing I hate about tubes that you can’t see through is that you don’t know how much product you really have left.

One response

  1. I open everything to make sure I get the very last bit. I saw on the news a while back that people throw tons of product away thinking they got the last when in fact there is more once the bottle, tubes, packaging is opened. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

