Royal Tip Nails

This week I decided to try out another of Barry M’s matte nail paints. This time one called ‘Vanilla’. I also tried out one of their other new nail effects called ‘Royal Glitter Texture Effects’. The shade I used for this design is called ‘Lady’.

_IMG_0039 copy

Although Lady is primarily a white fine glitter and texture shade, it also has pastel orange and green flecks of glitter in it that you can catch a glimpse of when you move your nails about. However, I’ve always had trouble photographing such nail varnishes, and so it looks a lot more beautiful in real life than it does in the photos in this post. You can see a close up of the bottle below to help show what the shade consists of a bit better. Also the level of texture is also perfect in my opinion as it is more of a fine grain texture, which I prefer.

_IMG_0033

Although the matte shade is called vanilla it is more of a greyish lilac shade. It is quite a pretty nude shade, but then lilacs and purples are my favourite colours. I feel that this design would make a nice bridal nail design for someone who was having a white and lilac wedding dress, or bridesmaids wearing lilac for example.

_IMG_0041 copy

I firstly painted all of my nails with the matte shade. I layered this up as 1 coat of the matte, then my top coat, and then 2 more layers of the matte in order to try and help get a weeks wear out of it. I then gave it plenty of time to dry. In the picture below you can see where the camera managed to pick up some of the orange and green shades in the glitter.

_IMG_0045 copy

I next used some striping tape, and placed it diagonally across the tips of each nail. I made sure there was enough overhanging at the sides so that I could pull it off later. Your nails have to be really dry when you do this so as not to pull off all your hard work with the tape later.

_IMG_0046 copy

Lastly, I painted the tips with ‘Lady’, making sure not to got over the striping tape. I did this one by one, and removing the striping tape as I went so that the nail paint did not have time to dry. This left a nice straight line that looks more professional than doing it freehand. However it is a lot more fiddly and time consuming to do it this way. I am really pleased with how it turned out, and it lasted well considering I couldn’t put a top coat over the top.

One response

Leave a Reply

