Water Spotted Nail Experiment

I call this one an experiment because overall it was a bit of a fail lol. I’ve never tried any of the nail designs that involve dripping nail varnish in water but have always been eager to try it out. As I had a bit of spare time this weekend I thought I would give this spotty effect a go.

_IMG_5899 copy

First I painted all nails in 2 coats of my background colour. I decided on a dark purple. On the tutorials I looked at for this effect they say to use sanitiser spray. I don’t have this but in a couple of places people had said to use hairspray instead so I decided to go for that instead.

_IMG_5901 copy

I used cellotape to tape around my nails in order to make the clean up easier. I took a disposable plastic cup of room temperature water and added a few drops, one by one of my chosen colour. I went for a goldy metallic kind of colour. The drips separate out across the surface of the water. Then you can take your spray and do a little spritz on the top to make the dots. You can then dip your nail over the part of the pattern you like best, remove the excess with a toothpick, remove your nail from the water, remove the cellotape and clean up the nail with nail varnish remover before adding your top coat.

_IMG_5905 copy

However, I found that no matter how gentle I tried to be with the hairspray, when it hit the water it just made the nail varnish layer constrict up. If I was lucky I got a few big holes in the layer, but I wanted a design that had many spaller holes in it. I also found that the hairspray messed the surface of the water up for the next attempt as well. After struggling several times and wasting a bit of nail varnish on failed attempts, I was left with 2 nails undone, and the rest that I was not happy with how most of them turned out.

_IMG_5911 copy

This was when I decided to try something else that was in spray form. The closest thing I had near me to try was a bottle of body spray in a spritz bottle rather than in aerosol form. I used this for both the ring and little finger nails of my right hand. You can see from the pictures that although the gold nail polish looks a little less vibrant on these nails, the overall effect came out a lot better and more like what I wanted. It also didn’t make the nail varnish constrict up like the hairspray did. Therefore I definatley need to try this method out again to see if I can get better results. I also want to try out water marbled nails sometime as well as I have never gotten around to trying that out before either.

Leave a Reply

