Dried Petal Nails

I was given a nail art gift a while back that came with a few polishes and some little pots of dried flowers. I thought that as spring is here, it would be the perfect time to try it out.

_IMG_6491 copy

Firstly, I painted my nails in 2 coats of my base colours. For the thumb and ring finger I went with a light pink. For the rest of the nails I went with a light purple.

_IMG_6494 copy

Next I decided how I would place the dried flowers and laid them out. I painted my nail with clear polish and then using tweezers I placed the flower on the nail. Anything that was sticking over the nail I trimmed down with nail scissors. I then covered this with my top coat to seal it in.

_IMG_6498 copy

It was at this point that I realised that the more 3D the flower was, the harder it was to get it to stick down. I wanted to be able to cover the flower fully with my top coat and have it flat against the nail to increase its durability. When trying to do this the more intricate flowers became a bit messy, because it was so hard to get them to stick down flat.

_IMG_6502

Due to this, I changed my plans a bit. Originally I was going to place 2 different flowers on each nail and have them overlap. But I changed this to just one in order to prevent everything becoming too much of a mess. The small pink flowers that I used were the easiest to stick down as they were made up of just one layer of petals.

One response

Leave a Reply

