LED Tea Light Rose Candle

For my latest crafty time activity I decided to make some of these gorgeous rose LED tea lights that I stumbled across at this link on Pinterest. The tutorial looked just too good to not try out and share.

11276295_1624448067771895_782344992_n

They are actually quite simple to make. All you need is some LED tea lights. Ones with a switch at the bottom, rather than the twist kind is better, as you will be covering the sides of the light. I also went for the kind where the LED flickers like a real candle. As well as this you need some plastic spoons (I used clear ones to make them more ‘invisible’), some fabric rose petals in the colour of your choice (I went with pink to match my living room), and a glue gun.

1900006_10205855984173193_6097935882782277261_n copy

You take your plastic spoons and remove the handles. Then glue a petal to the back of each spoon. You then glue these around your tea light, placing the bottom of the spoon around halfway up the side of the tea light. Then you repeat the same, but you glue this layer around the bottom of the side of the tea light. When placing the spoons, do them in the same direction so that the petals overlap each other on the same side. When placing the last spoon in a row, make sure that it overlaps on the correct side, but then underlays the petal on the opposite side. I found I needed 8 spoons in total (4 in each of the 2 rows).

IMG_6549 copy

Then to complete the rose, place more rows of petals going around (without spoons) in the same direction in order to cover the remaining gaps and the tea light. I found for the size of mine meant that I needed to add 2 more rows. I therefore did a row of four petals and then I used 8 petals for the most bottom most row. If you glue only the one side of the first petal in the row, then I found this makes it easier to overlap it over the last petal that you place.

11263505_818556294908060_2066865226_n

3 responses

Leave a Reply

