Rainbow Ombre Stripe Nails

All week I was thinking in my mind that I would practice my water marbling skills again this week, and then at the last moment this idea popped into my mind. I figured I might as well take advantage of the fact that I have managed to keep my nails long without breaking them too badly recently, and this design is easier to achieve on long nails. I’m really pleased with how it turned out and how bold the colours I chose look together.

_IMG_6543 copy

First, I painted all nails in 2 coats of my base colour. I went for a neutral nude shade. This will form the first bar of colour on all nails.

_IMG_6545 copy

Next I took 5 different colours in light/pastel shades. I used a different colour on each nail. I painted starting from 2/3 of the way up the nail down to the tip. If any colours needed a second coat then I did this.

_IMG_6546 copy

Afterwards I took 5 corresponding darker shades to the colours I had just used. I painted the bottom 1/3 of each nail in the darker colour.

_IMG_6550 copy

Once everything had dried, I used some gold striping tape. I placed 2 stripes of this across each nail in order to cover up the lines where the different colours meet. Originally I was thinking to go over the darker shade with a flakie top coat to add some glitz. However I felt it would ruin the vibrancy of the colours next to each other and so decided against this in the end.

3 responses

Leave a Reply

