Handmade Wedding Invitation and Guest Book Card

I wanted to share with you all the handmade wedding invitations and ‘guest book card’ that I made for my wedding day last year. If planning my wedding hadn’t have been so hectic (made more hectic by organising my husbands visa application at the same time), then I might have thought about taking some good pictures in order to show a step by step guide.

_MG_5507

For the invitations I was going for a simple but pretty design. I used A5 sized pieces of white textured card. Holding it in portrait orientation, I folded the top down and bottom up into the middle of the card to make 2 flaps.

On the top flap I used sticky sponge pads to stick a small card banner that I purchased which said ‘Wedding Invitation’ on it.

I also purchased some lilac card butterfly shapes. I stuck small silver rhinestones onto the heads of these. To make them more 3D, I slightly folded the wings upwards. I attached one to the top left corner of the card and the other to the opposite diagonal corner.

On the remaining 2 corners I attached small flowers. I made these using a flower shape paper punch to punch out silver and lilac flower shapes. For each flower I put a silver flower shape at the bottom and glued a lilac one on top in the center, making sure that the silver petals were visible in between the lilac ones. I made these slightly 3D by bending the petals up slightly and then glued a silver rhinestone to the center of each completed flower.

For the inside of the invitation, I designed and printed the text for the invitations on the computer and then printed this out onto lilac coloured card. I designed it in a way so that when it was cut out, it could be glued into what becomes the middle of the centre section of the card when it is unfolded. I made sure it was a bit smaller than this centre section so that it left an even white border around the lilac insert.

I used A6 sized silver envelopes that I purchased to house the completed invitations.

10665358_1568534413368741_357941080_n

This ‘Please sign our guest book’ card was made out of left over materials that I had from the wedding invitations.

I cut the white textured card into A6 size and then folded it in half so that the fold was across the top of the card when standing it on the table.

I made a label on the computer that was roughly half the size of the front of the white card and printed this out onto lilac card. I cut this out and stuck this onto a piece of silver card. I then cut out the silver card so that it was a little bigger in order to make a silver border around the lilac card. I then glued this onto the front of the white card.

I then completed the card by attaching a small paper flower near the top corner that I had made in the exactly the same way as I did for the wedding invitations.

I ended up making quite a lot of these paper flowers and using them for other decoration on the day. One example of this was for a banner that I had purchased on eBay. The banner was made from lilac card cut out to the shapes of the letters used in the banner that were hung on thin ribbon. I felt it was a little plain and so I attached some of the flowers that I had made onto each of the letters. However for these flowers I only used one layer of the silver card instead of layering it up like I did with the invitations. You can see a picture of this below.

10725005_668872199886994_607374510_n

Leave a Reply

