Floral Hair Clips

I did quite a few bits of DIY crafts for my wedding last year. One of which were these foam rose hair clips. I wanted to share with you all how I made them as it was actually quite simple.

10723719_1511237399124140_1704350843_n

I purchased some foam roses online that I liked. They came with metal stems which I was able to remove by carefully pulling them out. These particular roses had a piece of green paper on the underneath to look like leaves. I used this to help hold the clips in place. I then took a plain alligator clip and carefully pushed it between the paper and foam rose to make a space for it to fit properly. I then removed it, being careful not to rip the paper too much. Using a hot glue gun, I covered the top fork of the clip with glue and then quickly pushed it back between the paper and rose before the glue dried. If you feel it does not secure it well enough you can put some additional glue where needed, but be careful to not overdo it.

10729321_1525283517689233_1554107118_n

I also added a single rhinestone to the top center of each flower. I carefully used tiny amounts of glue in order to glue the petals in the center down more flat. This was to make everything look a lot better once the rhinestone had been placed down as I wanted it to be flat on the side of a petal. I again used hot glue to stick this in place.

10731893_611694068941391_615141234_n

I also made a clip made up of 2 flowers with loops of white organza ribbon in the center. To make this one, I started by making a small loop in the ribbon that the top fork of the alligator clip could fit through. I sewed this together and then sewed several bigger loops going from side to side like a few infinity symbols on top of each other. I then sewed one foam flower to the top and one to the bottom of the ribbon loops. I used the hot glue gun to secure the ribbon loop to the alligator clip. I also added rhinestones to each flower in the same way as I did for the other clips.

_IMG_5216 copy

One response

Leave a Reply

