Golden Rain Nails

There was actually 2 different glitter nail polishes used for this design, but I got a bit carried away with the chunkier glitter that I placed on the top to be able to see the finer one underneath much.

_IMG_8263 copy

I started by painting all nails in 2 coats of a foil gold shade. Once this was dry, I used a makeup sponge and blobbed a little bit of a fine gold glitter on it.

_IMG_8268 copy

I then dabbed the sponge onto the nail. I made sure to mainly focus on applying it to the tip and working upwards to around halfway up the nail in a gradient. I then repeated this 2 more times per nail, making sure that the most concentrated area of glitter on each nail was at the tip.

_IMG_8272 copy

I then took a chunky flakie gold glitter nail polish. This also does have a few subtle flakes of a rose gold in it as well, but it didn’t show up much on the camera. I repeated the sponging process I did above on each nail with this nail polish.

_IMG_8281 copy

A good thing about using a sponge in order to place the glitter, is that the sponge absorbs a lot of the clear base polish meaning that you put more of the glitter and less of the clear base onto the nail than if you were to use the brush instead.

Leave a Reply

