Leafy Green Nails

This weeks design uses a leafy pattern from a stamping plate mixed in with a bit of everything lol (glitter, negative space, rhinestones, etc)

_20160703_133610 copy

I started by painting my thumbs and ring fingers with a sheer nude shade to improve their overall natural look. On the little fingers I painted 3 coats of a glittery shade with a tourquise base. On the remaining fingers I painted 2 coats of a dark green shade.

_20160703_140015 copy

On the index fingers I placed a single small rhinestone on each. I then coated everything with a quick dry topcoat. On my middle finger I used a leafy pattern from ‘Born Pretty’s’ stamping plate #19 and a white polish to stamp the design over the entire nail. I then coated it in top coat.

_20160703_133628 copy

I then took some masking tape and I lay down a strip on the table. I took a 2p coin and placed it on top of the tape near the one end. Using a pencil I drew around the side of the coin that was nearest to the end of the tape. I then moved the coin about an inch along the tape and drew around the same side again. I repeated this so that I had 8 curves drew onto the tape which I then cut these out to make 8 guides to use on my thumbs and ring fingers.

_20160703_135949 copy

I then used these guides by placing them so that the curved edge went across the middle of the nail and that the tips of the nails were left uncovered. I then used the same dark green shade to fill in the tips of the nails in green before removing the tape and adding a top coat. When everything was dry I applied the remaining strips of tape back onto the same nails in the same position. I took the same stamping pattern and white polish to stamp onto the green tips that I had created. I removed the tape and then used a thin paint brush to paint a white line over the edge of the green tip before finishing it off with a top coat.

One response

Leave a Reply

