Autumn Medley Nails

For this week’s design I decided to go with the seasons and do an autumn inspired manicure. I wanted there to be a range of different nails rather than have most of the nails with the same design.

_20161106_140033-copy

I started by painting my chosen base colours onto each nail. On the little finger I used 2 coats of a pastel orange shade as this is the most opaque orange I have, and I wanted to stamp with it as well. On the index finger I used 3 coats of a glittery gold shade. On the middle finger I used 2 coats of a light brown shade and on the remaining nails I used 2 coats of a lighter tan shade.

_20161106_140048-copy

For the index finger I left it as it was just the plain glittery gold. On the little fingers I made it into a gradient by sponging a red shimmery shade onto the tips up towards the middle of the nail.

_20161106_140037-copy

On the middle nail I used the slightly lighter tan shade to stamp 2 leaves onto the nail. I wanted this to look quite subtle as I also placed 3 rhinestones at the base of the nail to add further decoration.

_20161106_140135-copy

On the remaining thumb and ring finger nails, I stamped a gradient of leaves using the orange and red shade. However the orange came out too subtle against the tan background. I think I should have used a much lighter shade for the base colour to make it stand out more. A darker orange suitable for stamping would have been better if I had one as well. The plate I used was #19 by Born pretty.

One response

Leave a Reply

