Duochrome Gold Spiral Spots Nails

These nails might look like they were a bit complex to make, but they actually didn’t take me anywhere near as long to do as I expected. I was very pleased with how well they came out. Often I have this great picture in my mind of how an idea will look, and then when I actually come to trying to make the design, it ends up nowhere near as good as I envisioned. However, this was one of those rare cases where the idea came out better than I expected.

_img_8581-copy

I decided to use a duochrome shade for my base. This one is called ‘Persian’ and is by Barry M. It’s a pretty purple shade that turns to shades of bronze and gold. For the dot details, I used a shimmery gold shade to match with the colours in the duochrome.

_img_8588-copy

I started by painting all nails in 3 coats of the duochrome base colour. I needed 3 coats to make it opaque enough. In hindsight I should have really used a dark shade underneath.

_img_8596-copy

Next I took the smallest sized dotting tool that I had and used this to place the shimmery gold dots on all nails. The idea behind the placement was to have them in curved and spiraling line patterns. I wanted each nail on one hand to have a completely different pattern on it, but I wanted the hands themselves to match.

_img_8615

On the thumbs I went for a spiral of dots coming from the base to the middle of the nail, as well as a curve of lines going along the one side of the nail. The ring finger nail was a bit similar, but the spiral came from the tip of the nail, with lines of dots near the base of the nail. On the index finger, I made a half moon of dots along the one side of the nail. The middle finger was the opposite to this as it had an inverted curve of dots made on the opposite side of the nail. Finally, on the little finger, I placed a half moon of dots at the tip of the nail, with lines of dots going diagonally across the base of the nail.

Leave a Reply

