Red and Gold Mandala Nails

So for this weeks design, I gave the mandala stamping plate (born pretty plate #bpx15) another go. I had trouble getting this to work with any of my clear stampers, and had to give up on it in the end.

_20160910_010445-copy

This time around I used a squishy sticky marshmallow stamper and got much better results. The only problem was, that this meant I couldn’t really see where I was placing the design. Due to this both hands don’t match up as well as I wanted them too.

_20160910_010457

I started by painting all nails in 2 coats of a deep raspberry red shade. I let this dry for a bit and then used a dry fast top coat over the top.

_20160910_010511

Next, I used liquid latex around my nails to help make clean up easier. I find I have to use it on alternate nails, and then after I am finished with those nails I can go back and do the rest. This is because I always end up touching the fingers together and the latex just sticks to itself and pulls away from my fingers before I even get chance to stamp on them.

_20160910_013410-copy

To finish the design, I used a gold nail paint with the mandala designed stamping plate and stamped onto each nail. I tried to use a different part of the design on each nail on one hand and then make the other hand match. I then cleaned up around my nails and finished everything off with a top coat.

Leave a Reply

